This page needs JavaScript activated to work. Kanana

About Botswana


Botswana is a land locked country, located in Southern Africa.

Neighbouring and adjoining countries are South Africa, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe



Botswana has been in dependent since 1966  the current President, Ian Khama is the 4th President.

Botswana is a representative democratic republic, elections are held every 5 using Westminister style “first passed post” constituencies.

The President of Botswana is both head of state and head of government.

Executive power is exercised by the government.

Legislative power is vested in both the government and the Parliament of Botswana.

The most recent election, its eleventh, was held on 24 October 2014. Since independence was declared, the party system has been dominated by the Botswana Democratic Party.

Botswana adopted its new name after becoming independent within the Commonwealth on 30 September 1966. Since then, it has maintained a strong tradition of stable representative democracy, with a consistent record of uninterrupted democratic elections

Citizens of Botswana refer to themselves as Batswana plural and Motswana singular.



Since independence, Botswana has had one of the fastest growth rates in per capita income in the world. Botswana has transformed itself from one of the poorest countries in the world to a middle-income country. By one estimate, it has the fourth highest gross national income at purchasing power parity in Africa, giving it a standard of living around that of Mexico.

The economy is mainly driven by Mining, Tourism and Cattle



The Population of Botswana is just over 2 Million


Visas for Botswana

Travellers with British , South African, EU and USA passports, as well as many other nationalities do not need a visa when travelling to Botswana. For more visa information, see the Botswana Tourism Board site.



Personal tax-

5% over annual income of P36,000.

12.5% over annual income of P72,000

18.75% over annual income of P108,000

25% over annual income of  P144,000


Company Tax – 22%

Value Added Tax – 12%

Foreign dividends – 15%

Taxable income of an Accredited Innovation Hub (AIH) business - 15%.

The corporate income tax rate applying to non-resident companies - 30%




Dialling code +267

Currency is Pula – vist for exchange rates

Language – English is an official and commercial language the local language is Setswana/Tswana